1776

I may be a complete idiot about some many things (technology, baking, driving, anything that involves a remote control), but I do have the occasional BRILLIANT idea.

A few weeks ago I finally tired of having the boys guess the password on my iPhone (by watching me type it in or by examining the fingerprints on the screen) in order to play whatever games they’d installed on it the last time they got on, or to tinker with the settings of my phone. (My auto-correct is a hot mess. 49 auto-corrects to the 49-ers, PM auto-corrects to Peyton Manning, and Efram auto-corrects to EframIsAwesome.)

For reasons that it hurts my head to think about, I know I cannot stop it from happening; but I CAN up the game ever so slightly.

Last week Bennett was stumped as he typed what he thought was the password. FAIL.

“What is it?” he asked, eyeing the phone for signs of fingerprints.

End of World War Two, I said. It took him a few seconds, but he got it.

Several days later I had changed it to the Spanish Inquisition, then the date of Israeli Independence, then Armistice Day. It is now the date of the signing of the Declaration of Independence.
declaration of independence

I’m looking for suggestions. Feel free to chime in. (Next up: Battle of Hastings, Magna Carta, Year of Springsteen’s Birth.)

12 Comments

Filed under children, parenting, technology, Uncategorized

12 responses to “1776

  1. joy

    My husband wants to know why you’re letting them know your password…

  2. BRW

    Love this! I’m thinking 1.0′s response will be, “But I need access to your phone to google the answer.” :-)

  3. I worked in a Scottish company once where the keycode on the door was the year of the Jacobite Revolution….

    This may be too UK-centric but how about:

    Great Fire of London
    English (or other!) civil war
    Year women got the vote in x (name the country. This could keep you going for a while…!)

  4. RBW

    Fall of the Berlin War, French Revolution, Destruction of the Second Temple, Brown v Board of Ed, Assassination of JFK, Emancipation Proclamation, Man walks on the Moon, First Zionist Congress…

  5. anat

    how about capitals of countries and/or states

Leave a Reply

