Talent? What Talent?

Efram has a nasty gash on the bridge of his nose. He got it playing football over the weekend. Today, he came home from school early because while playing.. yes, football.. two friends ran into each other and then into him. (Please don’t try and work out the logistics of this in your mind. You’ll only get a headache. I did.)  He went down hard on the concrete and has a bump the size of two golf balls. (Which begs the question: Why did I move to Seattle for my kids to play football on concrete? I could call the school and ask why they’re not playing on the grass field, but I fear that if I complain, they’ll just ban football.)

I know that there are some serious safety concerns with this sport.. but I thought those had to do with professional players and inadequate protection, not backyard (or concrete slab) football among a group of third graders. And why aren’t everyone else’s kids getting the shit knocked out of them?

At least the girls aren’t doing anything dangerous. This week Frances placed in the school talent show. She and her best friend, J., read Frances’ silly stories aloud. Or as J’s mother described them, “Frances’ version of ‘Who’s On First’.”

The girl was quite proud of herself. She came home and declared, “I may get my looks from Daddy, but my talent comes from you.”

I’m sure there’s a compliment in there somewhere. Right?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Talent? What Talent?

  1. MyTwiceBakedPotato

    So cute!
    I am secretly glad that mine doesn’t like football because of the safety issues…I’m already a huge worrier and don’t want to add head injury to thr list at this point 🙂

  2. I know. I think I need to be on concussion-watch and wake him up in the middle of the night to make sure he knows his name. I hate that.

  3. Sandi Kaplan

    Don’t worry – Efram is not alone. Nathan came home a couple of weeks ago with a gashed lip from running into the fence during a recess football game with the second and third graders. Got a call from the school to check that he is up to date on his tetanus shot…and I thought rugby was dangerous!

  4. nannypology

    That’s a pretty gnarly injury for 3rd grade football! But I’m sure he wears it like a badge… What a tough kid!

Leave a Reply

