And bunny makes six (if you don’t count the hamster).

Before I got pregnant with Francie we had a bunny. His name was Louis and although I loved him, his life was short and filled with illness. Before I got pregnant with Fiona we had a guinea pig. His name was Lumpy, and although he was an ugly bugger, he had a full, rich life, and even ended his days shacked up with another guinea pig named Trixie, which is a skanky stripper name, even for a small animal. There have been turtles and hamsters and I can’t remember what I came home with before Sidney, but if I am feeling broody, before I do anything real about it, we get a pet.

Meet Bun-Bun:

IMG_2141[1]

While she may not be heralding any new human additions, she does satisfy my need for baby talk. When we picked her up at the pound, her name was ‘Twilight,’ but I wasn’t having any of that. I went through a list of brownish items and Bennett liked ‘Latte,’ but that’s hardly a name, so I starting calling her ‘Lotte,’ which you pronounce “Lottie” — as in the singer Lottie Lenya, who absolutely nobody seems to have heard of other than me. (One day I will update my cultural references, I promise.)ย  But nobody really took to that, so we followed Sidney’s lead, and she calls her ‘Bun-bun.’

It’s not a particularly dignified name. But neither is eating while you crap, and Bun-bun likes to nibble on fresh hay while she sits in her litter box.

Here is her hutch, which M built with help from the kids.

IMG_2142[1]

It stills surprises me to be married to someone who can build things. M was the first Jew I’d ever met who knows the names of all the things in the toolbox, not to mention the different kind of screwdrivers. It doesn’t seem quite kosher to me to use phrases like “two by fours” and “I’ll sodder it later,” but M tells me that Jesus was probably a carpenter and was Jew-ish. Frankly, I find that hard to believe. I think his mother was pushing him to medical school and the carpenter thing was just a phase he went through to piss her off.

And now we are eight… well, nine if you count the hamster.

14 Comments

Filed under children, parenting, pets, Uncategorized

14 responses to “And bunny makes six (if you don’t count the hamster).

  1. strawberryquicksand

    Thanks for the giggle…

  2. Bun-Bun is adorable ๐Ÿ™‚ I had a rabbit named Nelson. He went crazy when we brought home a Schnauzer and died of fright not long after a few weeks of terror.

    I’m sticking to dogs ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. barbara

    Great way to start my day, Lea. One of your funnier ones (and it’s a little hard to pick) but I know it’s funny when I start to snort. Bella asked me for a pet for her birthday…let me (us all) know how Bun-Bun gets on…altho’ not sure Yoni is up to building the 5 star hutch.

  4. Lorene Goldman

    Mazel Tov on your new addition to the family. Enjoy. Love, Lorene

  5. SJ

    Nice hutch! Bunny’s cute too.

  6. I remember having a variety of rodent type pets while growing up – hamster, guinea pig, gerbils, but never a bunny. Very cute!

  7. karen N

    from the Wiktionary..broody= “a female bird which is in the condition to incubate eggs,a broody hen, duck etc..”…oy that must have come from watching your friends chickens too long!!!..
    told you i dont need the subtitles anymore but i still need the dictionary;..and btw you never told me whose chichens were they anyway?!..
    another very funny post lea!:-)

Leave a Reply

