Separate This.

I’m packing the boys up for summer camp, which means the room that used to be my office now looks something like this:

IMG_2267[1].. and this:

IMG_2268[1]

Bennett leaves first — on Sunday. It looks like I’m going to be a pretty pathetic empty-nester, because I’ve actually convinced myself that I’ll miss the little bugger. I wonder if I’ll be glad to see him go on Sunday or just really glad to rid my office of the mountains of cheap t-shirts, sharpie pens and crap I hope and pray does not come back from camp with him. (Consequently, if life has taught me anything it’s this: I am certain that the only things he’ll lose are the things I wish he wouldn’t… and all that Walmart crap will make its way home with him. I just know it.)

I think he’s trying to make the separation easier for me by driving me absolutely bat-shit with all his creatures. I’m glad that hamster up and died last week because as it is, I’m going to spend the month playing Dr. Doolittle to the rabbit and the effing tadpole.

The tadpole, by the way, lives in this palatial tub, which until this Sunday was used to house some of the clothes Fiona had grown out of that will one day be Sidney’s:

IMG_2266[1]

Those clothes are now in a heap on the basement floor. Oh, and that little terracotta pot was going to be used to grow a dahlia but apparently tadpoles need homes within homes.

I haven’t even mentioned that he’s got me ordering ALGAE TABLETS for it on Amazon and this afternoon I found him boiling a beautiful head of butter lettuce on the stove top.

IMG_2265[1]

“Tadpoles like boiled lettuce,” he said.

Do they now? Do they need a whole head of fresh butter lettuce because I’ve got a few leaves of some wilting crap at the back of the fridge. Goodbye, fresh salad.

Yesterday it was kale. Goodbye, green smoothie.

His last words to me before bed last night were: “You need to cut the bunny’s nails while I’m away.”

Come again?

You could clearly do a lot worse than to be a pet in this house.

5 Comments

Filed under children, pets, Seattle, sports, Summer, summer camp, travel, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Separate This.

  1. emilyhbutler

    that last bit about grooming the bunny is amusing, in that I haven’t clipped my five year-old’s toe nails in several years. maybe she learned how to do it herself; I’m not in the loop.

    • Ok, so I just held the rabbit while Bennett cut her nails. The whole experience was bizarre. Even more bizarre — I LOVE CUTTING NAILS. I could easily give up cooking for the kids and detangling hair, but I want to be able to cut their nails FOREVER.

  2. How long do your kids go to camp and tell me how you got them to feel comfortable with that??
    I need to know that secret 🙂

  3. The 11 year old is going for 4 weeks, the nine year old for four. They both felt ready and comfortable.. they know people who go and who’ve done it. I guess it’s in the ether for them.

Leave a Reply

