Trashed.

When we first moved to town the boys had a preschool teacher who would regularly send home all their creations with a note attached: Parents, please pay attention to how you “recycle” the kids’ artwork. Nobody wants to see their creations in the trash.

And each and every time one of my kids tearfully pulls a crappy crayon stick figure drawing, or a piece of paper covered in three glued-on foam triangles out of the garbage (“Mummy, how could you?”), I wish to God I’d listened to her.

I particularly hate this time of year because for a week the kids come  home with their backpacks full of stuff that has no business being anywhere other than the trash. Sometimes you get a teacher who has the kids make a portfolio of their greatest hits, but more often than not, you get manilla folders stuffed with spelling lists, math worksheets and endless partially-filled composition notebooks. (Are my kids colossal underachievers? Is there a child out there who has ever filled one of these notebooks?) Believe me, I love seeing what my kids are doing at school, I just don’t understand why everything they touch has to find its way back to me like a homing pigeon.

This is what my recycling looked like today:

IMG_2272[1]

I have to take it out or risk being caught. And even though I save a good amount, I am certain that one of them will ask me for that one work-sheet I trashed, or the one story that didn’t quite make the cut.

I made my last lunches of the year last night. I am sure at one point I cared what I shoved into those lunchboxes, but I think I gave Francie a diet coke, an unpeeled carrot (hey, if it’s good enough for the rabbit), some chocolate chips, and a handful of pistachio nuts. There’s a part of me that’s relieved that school is over because I’ll be freed from the yoke of lunches, but as a friend pointed out to me today — I still have to feed them when they’re home.

I hope they like diet coke and pistachios.

12 Comments

Filed under children, school, Summer, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Trashed.

  1. emilyhbutler

    If I sent my kids to school with pistachios, I’d probably be arrested. I’d be in less trouble if I packed bullets.

  2. So true for all of us. I always told my gang that their dads office was very boring and so all of their “artwork” was recycled to his office. I always keep their essays and as I have two very dyslexic children I also kept their most spectacular mistakes.

  3. karen N

    WHO SAYS YOU HAVE TO FEED THEM WHEN THEY ARE HOME???..NEVER HEARD SUCH A THING!..NONSENSE..IT’S VACATION AFTERALL!..OOPS I DID NOT SEE THE CAPITAL LETTERS..OH WELL TOO TIRED TO GO OVER IT AGAIN:-)
    I couldn’t agree more with the trash..i looove when i stuff all their papers deep under the garbage, i am a pro..but i make sure to look behind my back before i commit the crime(?)

  4. Anonymous

    Jenna reads aloud from your blog and we laugh uproariously. Thank you! -Dan Sytman-

  5. Adina

    Wow did I relate I this one! 2 pages of the notebook filled!

  6. As a mama, I cringe at the sight of all the stuff that comes home! The worse is the laminated, bound stuff that can’t be recycled.

    As a teacher, I try to send less than most; however, some families want nothing and some families want everything. Try to hang in the middle 🙂

Leave a Reply

