“…. you’re a Jet all the way.”

Lake Washington, looking southeast toward Merc...

Lake Washington, looking southeast toward Mercer Island with Mount Rainier in background. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Most people start out in the Bronx and end up living on the shores of Santa Monica (as we did from 2000-2007) or on the banks of Lake Washington (2007-present).

Always flying in the face of convention, when the time came to move (for a variety of reasons), after spoiling ourselves rotten on the west coast, we decided to take our show on the road and head to … the Bronx. (There’s only so much staring at Mount Rainier from bed that a person can take.)

At the beginning of the summer we told the kids. There was some silence, there were some tears, there were many questions, and then came the pronouncements:

Efram: Well, now I don’t have to pretend to like the Seahawks anymore. That’s a relief.

Bennett: This is awesome. I am totally joining a gang. When we see Dr. Stu (our fearless pediatric dentist), if I have a cavity I am SO asking for a gold tooth.

(I swear I heard him humming “When you’re a Jet..”)

Me: Um, Bennett, I’m not so sure you’re picturing this all right. If you join a gang you’re not going to be dancing in the street in tight capri pants with a knife in your hand.

Bennett: Whatever. If we move, you totally need to let me get some Axe. I bet all New York City kids wear Axe.

This wasn’t going exactly as I’d planned.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to ““…. you’re a Jet all the way.”

  1. Anonymous

    almost welcome to my ‘hood. When do you get to riverdale? Let me know so we can have you over for shabbat! It would be lovely to catch up – Tamar

  2. That’s quite a move! Can’t imagine doing it with the (soon) 2 kids, let alone 5! Good luck!

  3. RK

    You are moving out of seattle in spite of we voted you for golden teddy award 😦
    I have always enjoyed reading your blog. Great sense of humor and reminds me to take parenting easy !!
    Best wishes to you all.

  4. Tina

    What a surprise, Lea! I wish you all possible best in the move and in your new digs in the Bronx! Please send your new address in case I have a crop of Perismmons this year….

Leave a Reply

