Monica Rosenbaum, First Lady.

20140310-111703.jpg

I was supposed to go away on Saturday night for roughly 24 hours. The trip got cancelled, and my first thought was:

Great. Now I have to get involved with that bloody Eleanor Roosevelt hand puppet.

You see, Francie’s biography project hand puppet was due on Monday and I was hoping to dodge the class project bullet. (I was quite thrilled when she chose Eleanor. I was less thrilled when she said: “I chose her because she’s beautiful. Like me.” Oh, honey, I explained. ER was many, many things. I’m not sure beautiful was one of them. Francie didn’t believe me until she read the actual biography, which included the following line: “She was not pretty.”)

I managed to dodge the bullet anyway, because I took every opportunity I could on Sunday to be out of the house. M oversaw the whole thing beautifully.

Fiona, however, got slightly confused because she kept referring to the puppet as Monica Rosenbaum. I am not sure the White House needs another Monica, but I’d be pretty psyched about a Rosenbaum.

Monica Rosenbaum went to school today with Francie.

I replaced the 24 hour escape with Saturday dinner with one of my best friends who lives in Brooklyn. We met midtown. I took the subway, and because I had to be awake (and out of the house, no less) after 10 PM, I took the opportunity to nap. In both directions.

If I wasn’t feeling old enough (picking up a carload of fetal Columbia undergrads didn’t help matters), I woke up just in time to overhear the following conversation:

Girl one (too much eyeliner): I just realized this morning that in twenty years I am going to be FORTY TWO!

Girls two and three: Audible gasp.

Girl one: I know, right? And the I’m gonna have a husband (gasp) and a house (gasp) and maybe even a kid (gasp). And then I realized – I MAY EVEN HAVE A MINIVAN!

Girls two and three are now crying.

Girl one: Here’s the worst part — I have only twenty years left until all that happens!

Girls two and three are now contemplating throwing themselves in front of the next train.

I could have done without that little nugget of eavesdropping.

I guess you can’t dodge every bullet.

2 Comments

Filed under children, New York City, parenting, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Monica Rosenbaum, First Lady.

  1. Ilanak

    luv!! i can guess who u went to dinner with 🙂
    i can so relate to the dodging the class project bullet – too bad trip got canceled

  2. Nothing worse than a youngster complaining about how old they are….!

Leave a Reply

