Happy thoughts

I could write about the five hours that M had to spend in the ER with Bennett getting stitches above his eye as a result if a frisbee mishap, (by the way, one more visit to the ER and we fill out our punchcard and get a free latte), or about the pounding headache I have had for 72 hours straight, about the high emotions running rampant in this house as a result of the NFL playoffs (I think I’m ready for this fakakte season to be over), or about a series of other events that have me losing sleep and gaining grey hair… but instead I want to think about something happy instead.

Here’s something silly, if not happy:

M came home with a camera that links up to our cellphones. Thankfully, instead of using it to spy on me in my underwear, the boys put it outside so they could spy on some birds nesting in the rafters of our porch:

20130112-202420.jpg

They wanted to check on the camera’s positioning without disturbing the birds, so they camouflaged themselves. I found these outside:

20130112-202605.jpg

It’s neither uproarious nor snarky, but it made me smile… And that’s something I sorely needed this week.

3 Comments

Filed under children, footall, health, NFL, parenting, Seattle, Summer

3 responses to “Happy thoughts

  1. Wishing Bennett a speedy recovery. You too, Lea.

  2. Writing is the greatest balm. I already feel much better. Thank you Lorene!

  3. karen N

    oy i had no idea you went thru all of this!…just catched up on my reading this morning, and read your last 2 posts…so sorry for Bennett, i hope he will be ok, bc i DO love his special almond shaped twinkly eyes!..hope the rest of this week will be better:-)Merci encore…i wished i had known you were so sick! ..you could have swapped for another day

Leave a comment